Skip to content

ZP Suite vs Lightspeed: which POS system for your restaurant?

Updated on September 24, 2026 · 4 min read

Information gathered on September 24, 2026 from the providers' public websites.

Who each one is for

Lightspeed is aimed at restaurateurs of every kind, from small cafés to chains and multi-site groups. The provider highlights a seat-by-seat ordering feature, geared more towards table service, and claims more than 160 Michelin-starred restaurants among its customers.

ZP Suite is aimed at Swiss shops and restaurants that want a till installed by an authorised reseller in their region, with a public licence price known in advance, and a suite that runs from ordering (ZP POS, ZP mobileOrder) through to the kitchen (ZP kDisplay) with no re-entry.

Comparison table

LightspeedZP Suite
Pricing modelMonthly subscription, CHF 89 to 249 depending on the plan (Basic, Core, Pro) plus CHF 49 per month per additional till. Whether excl. or incl. VAT is not stated on the page.Lifetime licence, paid once, in CHF excl. VAT. ZP POS from CHF 590 per till.
HardwareiPad platform presented as the main device, cloud infrastructure, compatible with existing hardware.Windows touchscreen till, with a thermal printer for receipts.
OfflineYes, explicitly claimed by the provider.Yes, sales are rung up locally on each till, with no connection.
PaymentTWINT, bank cards and contactless payments mentioned, with no terminal brand specified.Worldline, Nexi, Paytec and Wallee / PostFinance terminals, controlled directly by the till, plus the Cima and Cashmatic cash-handling machines.
Interface languagesNot disclosed.Four languages (French, German, Italian, English), set for the whole till, with the V3.

What Lightspeed does well

Lightspeed highlights the ergonomics and intuitiveness of its interface, along with round-the-clock support. The seat-by-seat ordering feature answers a specific need in fine dining. The provider also claims explicit offline operation and an international presence, with more than 144,000 customer businesses worldwide according to the pages reviewed.

Payment: two approaches

Lightspeed cites TWINT, bank cards and contactless payments as accepted methods, without specifying a Swiss terminal brand on the pages reviewed. ZP POS, by contrast, directly controls named terminals: Worldline, Nexi, Paytec and Wallee / PostFinance send and receive the amount from the till, with no one re-entering it on the terminal. The Cima and Cashmatic cash-handling machines follow the same principle for cash payments, with automatic change.

Pricing: per till or by subscription

Lightspeed charges monthly, per licence: depending on the plan chosen, one, two or three licences are included, and an additional till adds CHF 49 per month. ZP Suite charges per till, once: ZP POS costs CHF 590 excl. VAT per till, and the till options (stock management and labelling, customers and loyalty, variant management) cost CHF 390 excl. VAT each, per till. The lifetime licence or subscription guide sets out a full five-year calculation, with a costed example.

When to choose ZP Suite

ZP Suite suits a business that would rather pay for its till once than every month, and wants an authorised reseller in its own region for installation, set-up and support. The till runs on Windows and directly controls the common Swiss payment terminals (Worldline, Nexi, Paytec, Wallee / PostFinance) and cash-handling machines (Cima, Cashmatic). The suite covers table service as well as mobile ordering and the kitchen display, with a single catalogue shared by every till, from the counter through to the kitchen.

What to check with your reseller

Neither the price Lightspeed shows on its Swiss page, nor ZP Suite's licence price, necessarily includes all the hardware: till, printer, payment terminal, tablet for taking orders. Ask each reseller or provider for a complete quote for your business, hardware and installation included, before comparing the two figures.

A till that stays local

One thing the two solutions have in common: Lightspeed and ZP POS both claim to work without an internet connection. The difference lies elsewhere, in the pricing model and in the nature of the hardware, iPad for one, Windows touchscreen till for the other. It's up to you to choose what suits your business, your team and your reseller best, bearing in mind that these two points, price and hardware, are always worth checking before you sign.

Sources

The information about providers and about the law cited in this article comes from the following sources.

  1. Lightspeed Restaurant, Swiss page (full-service restaurants) (September 24, 2026)
  2. Lightspeed, Swiss restaurant POS pricing (September 24, 2026)
  3. Lightspeed, about us (September 24, 2026)
  • The Windows touchscreen till at the heart of the suite, from shop to restaurant.

  • The kitchen display that replaces paper tickets.

  • The order taken at the table goes straight to the kitchen.

Frequently asked questions

Does Lightspeed work offline?

The provider states that its POS software can be used offline and keeps working without an internet connection. ZP POS also rings up sales locally, with no connection.

What does Lightspeed cost in Switzerland?

On the Swiss page reviewed, Lightspeed lists three monthly plans: Basic at CHF 89, Core at CHF 159 and Pro at CHF 249, plus CHF 49 per month per additional till. Whether these are excl. or incl. VAT is not stated on that page.

Does ZP Suite also offer a subscription?

Not for the till. ZP POS and its modules are sold as a lifetime licence, paid once, in CHF excl. VAT. Only POZTEK Cloud, the back office, will be offered on subscription.

Which Swiss payment terminals does ZP POS control?

Worldline, Nexi, Paytec and Wallee / PostFinance, as well as the Cima and Cashmatic cash-handling machines.

Let us see how the ZP Suite meets your needs.

An authorised reseller in your region will introduce the ZP Suite, install it and train your team.