Skip to content

ZP Suite vs SumUp POS: which till for your shop?

Updated on September 24, 2026 · 4 min read

Information gathered on September 24, 2026 from the providers' public websites.

Who each one is for

SumUp is aimed at small shopkeepers and independent traders. The Swiss page reviewed cites hospitality (cafés, restaurants, bakeries), retail and beauty services such as salons.

ZP Suite is aimed at shops that want a full catalogue, with barcodes, variants, scales and labels, stock tracked on a handheld terminal via ZP Stock, and the backing of an authorised reseller for installation.

Comparison table

SumUp POSZP Suite
Pricing modelHardware purchase: from CHF 249 (discounted price shown), CHF 399 at the standard price, up to CHF 649 depending on the bundle. Software free, or CHF 49 per month for the Caisse Plus plan. Payment fee: 1.5%, reduced to 0.99% with the Paiements Plus subscription.Lifetime licence, paid once, in CHF excl. VAT. ZP POS from CHF 590 per till. No fee charged on payments taken.
HardwareDual-screen till (merchant and customer), around 3.2 kg, Wi-Fi and mains connectivity, compatible accessories mentioned (receipt printer, cash drawer, barcode scanner, Kiosk stand).Windows touchscreen till, with a thermal printer for receipts, and a connected scale and payment terminal.
OfflineNot disclosed for Switzerland.Yes, sales are rung up locally on each till.
PaymentSumUp is itself a payment provider: a fee of 1.5% per transaction, reduced to 0.99% with the Paiements Plus subscription. TWINT compatibility not disclosed in a verifiable way on an official Swiss page reviewed directly.Worldline, Nexi, Paytec and Wallee / PostFinance terminals, controlled directly by the till, plus the Cima and Cashmatic cash-handling machines.
Interface languagesNot disclosed.Four languages (French, German, Italian, English), set for the whole till, with the V3.

What SumUp does well

SumUp highlights instant set-up and automatic tax compliance. The provider claims complete management from a single solution (payments, stock, staff, loyalty), no rental or mandatory subscription fees for the hardware, and a transparent pricing policy with no hidden fees according to its pages. SumUp also cites more than 4 million customer businesses worldwide.

Payment: two business models

SumUp offers free POS software, or CHF 49 per month for the Caisse Plus plan, but charges a fee on every payment taken: 1.5% as standard, reduced to 0.99% with the Paiements Plus subscription. On ZP Suite, the POS software charges no fee: ZP POS sends the amount to the payment terminal (Worldline, Nexi, Paytec or Wallee / PostFinance), which applies its own terms, independent of the till licence.

Hardware: bought as a bundle, or chosen with a reseller

SumUp sells its own hardware: a dual-screen till, weighing around 3.2 kg, with kits from CHF 549 to CHF 649 depending on the accessories included (receipt printer, cash drawer, barcode scanner, Kiosk stand). ZP POS runs on a Windows touchscreen till chosen with your reseller, who can pair it with a scale, a label printer and a Swiss payment terminal, according to your shop's exact needs.

What to check with your reseller

SumUp's hardware price and ZP POS's licence price do not compare like for like: one buys a complete device, the other a software licence installed on separately chosen hardware. Ask each provider or reseller for a complete quote, hardware and installation included, to compare a total cost rather than a single price shown at the top of a page.

When to choose ZP Suite

ZP Suite suits a shop that would rather pay a licence once than have a fee taken from every payment, and that needs more advanced catalogue management: size and colour variants, items weighed on a connected scale, labels printed on professional templates, and stock tracked with ZP Stock. A ZP selfCheckout kiosk also takes over for small, self-service baskets, on the same catalogue as the till.

Offline operation, worth checking for Switzerland

ZP POS rings up sales locally on every till, at any time. For SumUp, we found no verifiable confirmation on an official Swiss page reviewed directly: the only help page identified on the topic describes the French market. It's a point worth checking directly with SumUp for your shop.

Sources

The information about providers and about the law cited in this article comes from the following sources.

  1. SumUp, till (Swiss page) (September 24, 2026)
  2. SumUp, about us (September 24, 2026)
  3. SumUp, does the till work without an internet connection (France page) (September 24, 2026)
  • The Windows touchscreen till at the heart of the suite, from shop to restaurant.

  • Deliveries, dispatches, stocktakes and labels, from a handheld terminal.

  • The customer orders and pays on their own. The queue moves.

Frequently asked questions

Does SumUp work without an internet connection?

This is not disclosed in a verifiable way for Switzerland: the only official help page found on the topic describes the French market. ZP POS, for its part, rings up sales locally on every till.

Does SumUp charge a fee on every payment?

Yes, according to the provider: 1.5% per transaction as standard, reduced to 0.99% with the Paiements Plus subscription. ZP Suite does not charge a fee on payments taken.

What is ZP Suite's starting price?

ZP POS costs CHF 590 excl. VAT per till, as a lifetime licence. Hardware and installation by an authorised reseller are extra.

Let us see how the ZP Suite meets your needs.

An authorised reseller in your region will introduce the ZP Suite, install it and train your team.